Fuel Filler Neck and the Cap is Toast!

2 Mar

I discovered that the fuel filler neck had a locking cap on it, and of course I wasn’t given a key for it. I can imagine that this might have been a reason why the tank was bone dry. So I decided to get my hands dirty, and crawl under Athena and see what could be done. It wasn’t a super easy job, but I managed to pull of the disintegrated rubber sleeve from around the back of where the cap sits, and after a few minutes of praying, finally gave way to the do-all utility knife, and said good bye to the hose connecting the filler neck to the tank. After all 50 or more years of use, I think she could use a new one.

Of course then I had to go to the local Napa Auto parts and buy a new hose, and see if they might be able to somehow remove the stuck on filler cap. They had the recommendation from one another of simply drilling the lock core out like most locksmiths would recommend after having a few home door locks re-keyed. Two guys jump on the neck, one holds it tight, the other rams a screwdriver in where the key goes, and both after a few seconds, give up. One guy takes it back to his station and tries the same thing, and then has an insidious smirk on his face, walks off to the back of the store. I’m thinking “Ok, he’s finally going to take a drill to the lock core”, but then I hear what sounds like a circular saw “I’m thinking to myself, that doesn’t sound like any drill I’ve ever heard”. Within a few minutes he comes back, and throws this on the counter, and made the comment “It’s off!”. I couldn’t stop laughing, and the guy was chuckling himself. I asked for a replacement, whole, and working, locking cap. These guys’ personalities being very logical and somewhat sadistic sense of humour in ways would’ve simply put the two pieces back together and handed it to me if I asked for a filler cap replacement.

Image

I also cleaned a lot of rubbish off the original filler neck, and scrubbed it with steel wool until it shined. I primed it, and am waiting for it to dry.  My next step after this dries is to paint it with (yes, over-the-top) black engine enamel.

Image

 

Here’s the new locking cap, and it has 2 keys! Doesn’t quite look the same, but way better than someone syphoning all my expensive fuel from the tank. It happened before when I lived in Cali, in the south bay.

20140302-161708.jpg

Leave a Reply

